Version Sync for Jira

Easily synchronize versions across projects and manage name, description and release details across many projects

Documentation

This is the documentation for the Atlassian Jira app Version Sync for Jira.

Installation

Head to the settings within Jira. Note that administrator privileges are required to access the settings.

In the menu on the left side, navigate to “Find new apps” under the “Apps” category. Search for “Version Sync”, wait until the entry “Version Sync for Jira” is shown and proceed to “Install” the add-on.

Syncing

After having installed the app from the Atlassian Marketplace, you can start using it right away! Just navigate to a Jira project of your choice, navigate to its settings and click on the “Version Sync” entry in the navigation bar on the left side.

Note that the following versions exist in this project:

You’re then able to create your first group of projects that versions will be automatically synced across, by clicking on the “Create new group” button. The following dialog will appear:

Select all versions that you’d like to sync with other projects and click the “Create” button. Note that the checkbox at the bottom of the dialog will automatically sync newly added versions across all projects of the group. Since this is the only project in this group for now, this has no effect yet. The “Version Sync” page will be updated as follows:

You can change the group this project is attached to at any time. You can also “unsynchronize” any versions or the entire project, or change the automatic sync of added versions within the group. At the very bottom, you can see an activity log where all actions taken by the app are recorded.

In order to sync versions across projects, head to another project to sync those versions with. In our case, the same versions already exist in the other project, but without the release-dates and descriptions:

Go to the “Version Sync” page in the other project. Choose the group that was just created and hit the “Save” button. The following dialog will appear:

You can now choose which project versions should we synchronized with the group. Note that the project versions will be renamed and their details like description, release-dates and released/archived status will be synchronized once you hit the “Save” button. In our example, both the activity log and the Versions page will show that the versions have been properly synchronized:

If we now add a version to any of the two projects in this group, it will automatically be synchronized to the other one:

The same applies if an existing version is changed, released or archived. However, if a version in a group is deleted, the other versions are not automatically deleted, since the version to migrate existing issues into needs to be specified.

Known problems

There are no known problems so far. Please reach out to us if you encounter any issues while using the app!

Support

If you encounter any further problems, feel free to send us an email at support@codefortynine.com. We’ll usually reply within one business day.

 

Thanks for using Version Sync for Jira!